Dinesh 10-14BIRTHDAY: May 3rd

PERSONAL HISTORY: I was born in Kavrepalanchok, which is a village 250 kilometers from Kathmandu. There were 7 of us in my family and I was the 2nd youngest followed by my younger brother Gita. When I was 4 years old, an astrologer said that my father would die of poison and he told my mother to be prepared for anything. My mother passed away due to a brain tumor and within 8 months, my father died of snakebite. Gita and I were sent to the Central Orphanage (Nepal Children’s Organization) a year my parents’ death. I was five years then and Gia was 2 years old. After six months, Gita was adopted by an Italian family. Unfortunately, I could not go with my brother.

In 2003, I was chosen among 13 students by Himalayan Children’s Charities (HCC) because of my good grades. With the help of my HCC sponsors, I was able to attend the Reliance Residential Higher Secondary School for 7 years as a border student. I think I was, and I still am blessed by HCC members and Creating Possibilities Nepal (CPN), which is a non-profit organization working with the help of HCC. Both are very important to me. After I finished my School Leaving Certificates (2009-2010), I went to the HCC group home, “Khusi Ghar ” at Sukhedhara, where I lived for almost two years before going to Italy. At “Khusi Ghar”, we studied a great deal in order to get the best results and to possibly be able to manage the changes in Nepalese society. We were like a big family and helped each other with cooking, maintaining the house, washing, etc.

In the meantime, I never forgot about my younger brother, Gita. I would ask the officers in the orphanage for my brother’s address, but they just ignored me. I sent two letters, but later discovered that it was an incomplete address. With the help of my uncle, also named Dinesh, who is currently a director of CPN, I was able to find a correct address for my brother!

One day late at night, I was checking the water in the house. At that moment, I had a feeling that I should search for my brother. I searched through Facebook for the name I was given for my brother’s adoptive parents. I sent three messages stating that I was the older brother of Gita and that I had remained in the orphanage and what I was studying. On February 7, 2011, I received a response; I was so happy and overwhelmed!

On October 15, 2011, I visited Italy for the first time and stayed for two weeks. I finally saw Gita after 12 long years! Prior to my trip to Italy, Gita’s parents, Elena and Stefano, visited me in Nepal. They are now my parents as well. At last, on February 15, 2012 I moved to Italy.

WHAT MAKES ME SPECIAL: The astrologer had once told me that I would be separated from Gita after six months and it happened! He also told me that I would have an opportunity to visit a foreign country along with the possibility to live in a foreign country after 10-12 years. It also came true!

This is a true story and I am very grateful to be a member of HCC and CPN. It is me, Dinesh from Italy, and I just want to thank you all for reading my story! My family and

I will continuously support HCC as they helped me in transforming a vision into reality. They are doing the same with so many young boys and girls in Nepal that do not have the opportunities to acquire basic needs like food, shelter, and an education.

Dinesh at 20 v2

Share this story